# GOVERNORS STATE UNIVERSITY HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE

# Minutes of the May 9, 2014 Meeting

# **Lorraine Tyson, Chair**

#### CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

The Human Resources Committee of the Board of Trustees met on Friday, May 9, 2014 in Engbretson Hall at Governors State University. The meeting was called to order at 9:58 a.m. by Committee Chair Lorraine Tyson. Also in attendance were Committee members Brian D. Mitchell, Bruce Friefeld and Eileen Durkin, and Trustees Jack Beaupre, Patrick Ormsby, Anibal Taboas and Kayla Randolph-Clark.

Others present: Elaine P. Maimon, President; Deborah E. Bordelon, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Alexis Kennedy, General Counsel; Karen Kissel, Vice President for Administration and Finance; Will Davis, Vice President for Development; Courtney Sanders, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Marketing; Maureen Kelly, Director of Government and Community Relations; Rashidah J. Muhammad, President, Faculty Senate; Laura Owens, President, Civil Service Senate; Natasha Dillard, Student Senate Representative; Elizabeth Ruiz, President, GSU University Professionals of Illinois; Angela Latham, Associate Provost; Sandra Mayfield, Associate Provost; Ellen Foster Curtis, Dean, College of Business and Public Administration; Reinhold Hill, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Elizabeth Cada, Dean, College of Health and Human Services; Aurelio Valente, Dean of Students; and David Dixon, Internal Auditor.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Tyson requested a motion to go into Executive Session. Randolph-Clark made a motion to go into Executive Session pursuant to section 2(c)1, 2(c)2, 2(c)11, and 2(c)21 of the Open Meetings Act to discuss matters of personnel, collective bargaining, litigation and release of Executive Session minutes. Mitchell seconded. A roll call vote was taken and Mitchell, Durkin, Friefeld, Beaupre, Ormsby, Tyson, Taboas and Randolph-Clark were present. Maimon, Bordelon and Kennedy also attended the Executive Session. Open Session resumed at 11:19 a.m.

#### **INFORMATION ITEMS**

- 1. **Report on the Civil Service Merit Board**. Mitchell, Civil Service Merit Board representative, reported there was a quorum at the March 11, 2014 meeting. Actions taken included the election of Executive Committee members; the approval of minutes from the September 10, 2013, November 13, 2013 and February 11, 2014 meetings; a review of a Merit Board case involving Eastern Illinois University and Western Illinois University; consideration of revisions to the State Universities Civil Service System Freedom of Information Act policy; and adoption of a meeting schedule for calendar year 2014. The next meeting is on May 21, 2014.
- 2. Report on Presidential Assessment: Summary of Conference at the Association of Governing Boards (AGB) Annual Meeting. Tyson reported that several of the Trustees attended a workshop on presidential assessment at the recent AGB Annual Meeting. She stated it was very informative, especially since Trustees from other colleges and universities shared their criteria for evaluation. The last comprehensive evaluation of President Maimon was completed in 2011; these are done every five years in addition to a less comprehensive annual assessment. The trends in assessment identified by many from large institutions and some with corporate backgrounds include enrollment numbers, graduation rates, and fundraising. There is an emphasis on quantitative data. Tyson noted that she is studying the materials on assessment from the AGB conference in addition to reviewing a book on the subject, and will bring suggestions before the Board for future consideration. These suggestions will include the various methodologies used in assessment, as well as whether the Board will produce a written evaluation of the President.

### **ACTION ITEMS**

## **Approval of Minutes**

Tyson requested a motion to approve the minutes of the February 28, 2014 Human Resources Committee meeting. Durkin made a motion. Friefeld seconded. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

Resolution 14—29: Award of Rank and Tenure. The Administration brings 13 faculty members before the Board today for consideration of tenure: Jennifer Armstrong, John Cook, Daniel Cortese, Shea Dunham, Olumide Ijose, Raven James, Tywanda Jiles, Elizabeth Johnson, David Rhea, Andrius Tamulis, Stephen Wagner, Jason Zingsheim and Teri Sosa. Tyson recognized those in attendance. Friefeld made a motion. Durkin seconded. Bordelon stated the University is very excited to bring these 13 faculty members into the rank of associate professor with tenure. A roll call vote was taken and Tyson, Mitchell, Friefeld and Durkin voted aye. There were no nays. The motion carried.

# PUBLIC COMMENT

# **Charles Dieringer, community member**

Mr. Dieringer made the following comments: I have some comments pertaining to today's session because I attend meetings like this throughout the area. I'm a transparency advocate. I ask you to open up the agenda and provide your minutes in advance. Finally, I worked here many years ago as a research associate and was involved in getting grants. That involved training community college professors. I ask you to look into that.

Tyson requested a motion to adjourn. Durkin made a motion. Friefeld seconded. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote. The meeting of the Human Resources Committee adjourned at 11:29 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Johns Maloney